Eight KZN boys in SA u16A hockey team, four in B team

3 July 2024

Eight KZN boys were selected for the SA u16 team at the conclusion of the u16 SASHOC National Week in Bloemfontein on Wednesday, while a further four were included in the SA u16 B team.

Maritzburg College had Caden Francis and Siwaphiwe Sithembu selected for the A side and Ethan Fabre, Andile Lembethe, and Matthew Smith for the B side.

Clifton College had Ryde Brisset (feature photo) and Georg Wolhuter named the A team, while Westville‘s Bo Mokoena, Keegan de Jager, of Kearsney College, and Thandanani Zuma of Michaelhouse also cracked the nod. Westville also had Tyhil Naidoo named in the B team.

Christopher Abrahams, a member of the SA u16B team in 2023, moved up to the A team. His selection meant that DHS has players in the national u18, u17 and u16 sides.

2023: KZN has 15 in SA u16 hockey squads

Remarkably, and one wonders when this was last the case, or if it has happened before, but there were no players from Southern Gauteng named in the A team.

KZN Coastal A had the most SA u16 A selections, with five, while KZN Inland A provided three players. Eastern Province, the runners up to Boland at the inter-provincial tournament after a penalty shootout in the final, had four players included.

The champions, Boland, provided three players to the A team, and their neighbours, Western Province, had two.

KZN Coastal A, who finished second in Pool B, went down 2-5 to Boland in the semi-finals. KZN Inland A, the winners of Pool B, were beaten 4-1 by Eastern Province in the final four, but then beat KZN Coastal A 3-1 to claim third place.

KZN Coastal A and KZN Inland A results after the SA u16A and SAu16B teams.


Christopher Abrahams (DHS, KZN Coastal A), Callum Anderson (Bishops, Western Province A), Ryde Brisset (Clifton College, KZN Coastal A), Tylor Carter (Paul Roos Gimnasium, Boland A), Keegan de Jager (Kearsney College, KZN Coastal A), Danté Elkington (Grey High, Eastern Province A), Caden Francis (Maritzburg College, KZN Inland A), Logan Lackay (Paul Roos Gimnasium, Boland A), Keegan le Roux (Eastern Province A), Victor Louw (Northern Gauteng A), Stephan Malan (Parel Vallei, Boland A), Mohlodi Maseko (SACS, Western Province A), Bo Mokoena (Westville Boys’ High, KZN Coastal A), Chulumanco Mkontwana (Pearson, Eastern Province A), Gregory Rodwell (St Andrew’s College, Eastern Province A), Siwaphiwe Sithembu (Maritzburg College, KZN Inland A), Georg Wolhuter (Clifton College, KZN Coastal A), Thandanani Zuma (Michaelhouse, KZN Inland A)


Matthew Allibone (Grey High, Eastern Province A), Jay-Dee Carolus (Krugersdorp High, Southern Gauteng A), James Chree (Grey High, Eastern Province A), Ethan Fabre (Maritzburg College, KZN Inland A), Luca Jordaan (Parel Vallei, Boland A), Andile Lembethe (Maritzburg College, KZN Inland A), Luka Meets (Parel Vallei, Boland A), Ameer Muller (Grey High, Eastern Province A), Tyhil Naidoo (Westville Boys’ High, KZN Coastal A), Ethan October (SACS, Western Province A), Seth Paterson (Paul Roos Gimnasium, Boland A), Ndyebo Pongwana (Southern Gauteng A), Daniel Rightford (Wynberg Boys’ High, Western Province A), Chavez Sanger (SACS, Western Province A), Matthew Smith (Maritzburg College, KZN Inland A), Cole Stanbury (Jeppe High School for Boys, Southern Gauteng A), Rayhaan Thokan (Parktown Boys’ High, Southern Gauteng A), Jacques van Dyk (Stellenberg High, Western Province A)


KZN Coastal A

KZN Coastal A 5-0 KZN Coastal B
KZN Coastal A 3-1 Southern Gauteng A
KZN Coastal A 3-2 Southern Gauteng B
KZN Coastal A 2-3 KZN Inland A
KZN Coastal A 2-0 Border A
KZN Coastal A 2-5 Boland A
KZN Coastal A 1-3 KZN Inland A

KZN Inland A

KZN Inland A 5-0 Southern Gauteng B
KZN Inland A 5-1 Border A
KZN Inland A 2-1 KZN Coastal B
KZN Inland A 2-1 Southern Gauteng A
KZN Inland A 3-2 KZN Coastal A
KZN Inland A 1-4 Eastern Province A
KZN Inland A 3-1 KZN Coastal A

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.